A Father’s Day Reflection

When we were in Sierra Leone, my father kept listening to “Compound” by the Sierra Leone artist, Adfega. It’s a great song, and I liked it when I first heard it. It quickly became his favorite. He would request it at clubs and even pay DJs to play it for him. He played it so much that I got sick of it. Imagine, every day you enter the car and hear that song over and over again, with my dad singing along loudly. Eventually, it became seared into my brain. My initial dislike transformed, and I started liking the song again. Now, whenever I hear this song, I think of my dad.

On this Father’s Day, I am sharing this video of us towards the end of my trip. We were driving by the Sierra Leone peninsula on a hot January day, and he asked me to play “Compound” once more. I groaned but ended up joining him, and it was so much fun. It’s one of those moments and memories I will cherish forever. Watching this video made me smile because it reminded me of the joy of singing it with him. I’m glad I recorded it.

Reflecting on this memory, I realize how these small, seemingly mundane moments hold deep significance. They remind me of the profound connection we share with our parents and how our identities are shaped by these experiences. My father’s persistence in playing this song was more than just a preference for a song; it was a way for us to bond, to create shared memories that transcend time and distance.

As we celebrate Father’s Day, I am reminded of the importance of cherishing these moments with our loved ones. They become a part of who we are, a thread in the fabric of our identity. Happy Father’s Day, Dad. I am grateful for the memories we’ve created and look forward to many more.